by David Harrower

location | 1454 Danforth Avenue, Toronto


Preview Sunday, September 22 and Tuesday September 24, 2019 at 7:30pm
Opening Night Wednesday, September 25, 2019 at 7:30pm
Closing Day Sunday, October 13, 2019 at 2pm

Tuesday to Saturday at 7:30pm (Mondays Dark)
Matinees are Sunday at 2pm 
This show has a running time of 75 minutes
Previews $25 (plus HST)
Regular price $47.50 - $55.50 (plus HST) 
Rush tickets $25 (cash only, at the door, 45 minutes before performance starts, subject to availability. No phone reservations).

Directed by Leora Morris
Written by  David Harrower

Starring Diana Bentley, Jim Mezon, and Jonathon Young

Set and Lighting by Kaitlin Hickey, Costumes by Michelle Tracey, Sound by Christopher Ross-Ewart, Fight Direction by Siobhan Richardson, Production Manager Laura Philipps

Coal Mine Theatre engages under the terms of the INDIE 2.2, professional Artists who are members of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association.

KNIVES IN HENS, acclaimed playwright David Harrower’s first play, is a brutal fable of awakening consciousness and is set in a timeless community. It is as relevant today as it was when it originally premiered. It deals with a relationship triangle in a rural setting and a woman's internal quest to find out what she wants from life.

Season Six launches with KNIVES IN HENS, written by David Harrower, directed by Leora Morris (Orphans, for The Coal Mine, The Philosopher’s Wife for Buddies in Bad Times Theatre), and starring Coal Mine Theatre Co-Chief Engineer Diana Bentley (Orphans, Category E) for THE COAL MINE THEATRE, plus critically acclaimed Canadian actors Jim Mezon, who is best known for his 33 years at the Shaw Festival, and Jonathan Young, cofounder of the Electric Company Theatre, and star and co-creator of the multi-award-winning Betroffenheit. KNIVES IN HENS premiered at Edinburgh's Traverse Theatre in June, 1995 and is widely acknowledged as a modern Scottish classic, has played in over 30 countries and won the Theater Heute Best Foreign Play, Critics Award in 1998.